Private Lessons

Private Lessons are offered through the Chapa Band Program and are available to every band student. The lesson staff includes educators that are hand-picked by the directors. Students benefit from weekly one-on-one instruction and the private teacher is able to design a program that meets individual student needs. This allows each student to progress at his/her own rate and ability. Professional teachers on each instrument are able to teach these lessons during band class and before or after school. 
Much of the success throughout the CMS Band Program can be attributed to the private lesson program and the superior private lesson staff. The number of students enrolled in the program at Chapa Middle School has allowed a high standard of performance to be maintained. Supplemental lessons are not required, but are strongly recommended.

Why take private lessons?
You can learn more about the instrument you play, move faster than the classroom environment, learn more music, and have the chance to learn from a professional musician. 

Please complete this confidential survey to get started in our lesson program: 

If you are interested in your student taking private lessons, you may also contact one of our private lesson teachers directly.

Flute 
Stephanie Fisher - stephanie_fisher@live.com

Oboe
Khadija Zakavi - ksz5@txstate.edu
Ruby Oliva - olivart13@gmail.com

Bassoon
Elaina Walzel - emw62@txstate.edu

Clarinet
Philip May - philipandrewmay@gmail.com
Shane Lemanski - shane.lemanski@txstate.edu
Yu Hua Chiu - yuhuachiu06@gmail.com

Saxophone
Ben Kessler - ben.kessler@utexas.edu
Dustin Hunter - hunterdj92@gmail.com

Trumpet
Matt Aguayo - mattfbf@yahoo.com
Mark Slater - highcs@walipapa.com

French Horn
Luis Torres - horn133937@gmail.com

Trombone

Jonathan Huggins - jonathanhuggins54@gmail.com

Euphonium/Tuba
Shane Zubek - smzubek@gmail.com

Percussion

Dan Dowling - dwdowling@sbcglobal.net
Ziggy Santana - ss1902@txstate.edu


If you wish to become a part of our Private Teaching Staff, please contact our lessons coordinator Jacob Gross at jacob.gross@hayscisd.net .